NaNoWriMo–Crossing the Finish Line

2009 NaNoWriMo Winner
Winner's Badge

A little late in reporting, but NaNoWriMo finished on November 30th, and I’m really pleased with myself to have reached my goal, and the project’s objective of fifty thousand words in thirty days. The rewards, as promised, are the satisfaction of reaching a goal, plus the pleasure of downloading and posting a badge as one of this year’s successful participants.

Now what? A question much talked about on the web site, and one I have been trying to address over the past few weeks for myself. I have been working on the rather grand mess of words, incorporating them into a re-working of the story by re-stating the plot ideas, re-examining the characters and generally filling plot holes… with an aim of finishing the story early in the new year.

I’ve just discovered there is a NaNoEdMo, in March, which allows authors to group edit, working toward a more finished work. Will I be ready for a serious edit by then? Hmmmm.

I’m looking forward to next year’s month of manic writing. By then, I hope to have this story finished, and a new one to work on. Who knows what the New Year will bring, but perhaps a contract to publish is a dream to be fulfilled. But I’m grateful for having the experience. It has brought a renewed energy to my writing, and a strong message that the art of writing doesn’t have to be quite so solitary.

